Song

I’ve been writing songs. Writing songs without proficiency in an instrument is hard, so I’ve been trying to pick up some rudimentary guitar skillz. Now, I’m pretty comfortable with random finger-picky noodling; but singing and playing at the same time is an entirely different story.

I once asked a friend what the secret to strumming and singing at the same time is. His reply? “Emotion.” Well, um, maybe, but I think practice might have a lot to do with it as well. And what better incentive to practice than the desire to avoid looking like a complete jackass?

I’ve decided to give myself a proverbial kick in the pants by posting a song I’m working on each week. I apologize in advance for my cringe-worthy ineptitude (and terrible sound quality); shit’s hard, yo!

So without further ado I present verse 1 of a song I’ve been working on:

 

 

About ea

Reluctant technophile, immoderate lover of words, food, cogitation, the sensory world. We are not done evolving and there is no free will.
This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Song

  1. hrockwel says:

    You have a really nice sound, Em, and I thought your singing and guitar strumming went very well together. I had a hard time understanding some of the words and the sound and picture were off, but that was because of recording quality. I’d love to hear the whole song when you have it finished! Maybe post the lyrics, too? It was great talking to you today. Love you.

  2. Annie says:

    I like it. I like it. I like it. Not inept a’tall. Keep writing and keep on singing. The world needs your music. M

  3. emilya says:

    Thanks! Yeah, video quality is no bueno.

  4. it’s been a week where is your new song?

Leave a Reply

